creative works, Poetry

For Glory, I Bow

For glory, I bow
To the idols of shallow hearts
To the weaknesses of dismal lives
I bow to these celebrated vices, the evils of our own addictions

For humor, I lay
All virtues upon hard ground
All humanity in dark corners
I lay all care among crowded rot to wither in harsh sunlight

For triumph, I surrender
My anachronous values
My tired voice
I surrender my own being, everything I once stood for

For the hope of being lifted up
By those who pulled me down to begin with.

Leave a Reply

